Poetry Attempt #1: Unfulfilled

Poetry Attempt #1: Unfulfilled

I’m not much of a poet. I don’t even like poetry, particularly. But I woke up with this one in my head this morning, so…. Enjoy

~*~

Unfulfilled

I open my eyes and see myself

And see others, too

They are in the sky, and I am not

They stand on tall pillars reaching into the clouds

And I am trapped in my cage of glass

I can see them

I can imagine what it must be like to be so free

They feel the wind whispering through their fingers

They can see for miles

From the birds, they learnt to fly

Leaping and jumping from one pillar to another as if it was all a game

Maybe it is, to them

I am trapped

Not many of them notice me, and when they do, they tell me to fly

“Just fly out of there!” They laugh

I have not learnt how, I am not sure I can

My feet are too heavy

 

There are others like me

I see them sometimes, flitting about between the pillars

They seem happy

They have broken free of their cages

They cannot fly either

They urge me to break me – “Join us!”– to live like them

I want to fly

That is not possible, they tell me

“But look at this instead!” Look at what they have done

Look at the life they have made, the homes they have formed

The art they have created

I am impressed, I am, they look happy

But I want to fly

 

I see small parts of the them reflected in me

The scratches on my cage, from a new angle, make an art of their own

But I want to fly

I can imagine what it must be like to be so free

But I cannot get there

Leave a Reply

